Album Reviews

Music You Don't Know You Like Yet


Normal Happiness


This album is the second solo release on Merge records from ex-Guided By Voices member Robert Pollard. These songs were recorded with frequent collaborator Todd Tobias. Normal Happiness offers an exploration of sixteen tracks in just over thirty-five minutes. This record has catchy melodies that take you on twists and turn from the brit-pop wave of the sixties to modern rock. Many of the tracks have a hollow echo over the vocals which create an exploratory sound. Give a Listen: track 1 “Accidental Texas Who”, track# 3 ”Supernatural Car Lover” track #7 “Towers and Landslides”, track 10 “Rhoda Rhoda”, Track 16 “Full Sun (Dig the Slowness)” track 9 “Gasoline Ragtime.” -Mitchell Murphy

More reviews tagged #Rock

  • reviewed 05/2015

    Running Back

  • reviewed 05/2008

    John Hiatt
    Same Old Man

  • reviewed 11/2012

    The Sufis

  • reviewed 10/2008

    Nikka Costa
    - Pebble To A Pearl

  • reviewed 03/2007

    Al and the Black Cats
    Shakin At The Knees

  • reviewed 04/2004

    4 Way Street
    Pretzel Park

Compiled by the WYCE Journalism Club

The opinions expressed in these reviews are those of the individual volunteers that submitted the article and do not necessarily reflect the views of WYCE or GRCMC; nor its staff, donors, or affiliates.