Album Reviews

Music You Don't Know You Like Yet


Tomorrow Forever


The Farewell Drifters are a four-piece band from Nashville: Zach Bevill, Joshua Britt, Clayton Britt, and Dean Marold. Their folk rock band is known for their 60s era-inspired harmonies and anthemic song writing tied to a unique Brian Wilson-like sensibility. The four began making music together eight years ago, and released their first album, Yellow Tag Mondays, in 2010. While touring, the group became known as crowd pleasers at multi-generational folk festivals and earned a presence on Americana radio and Billboard's bluegrass albums chart. In 2011, they released their sophomore album, Echo Boom, to greater acclaim, being called "The Best of What's Next" by Paste Magazine and "A lavish, layered pop sound" by American Songwriter. For their latest record, Tomorrow Forever, the group collaborated with roots pop producer Neilson Hubbard (Matthew Perryman Jones, the Apache Relay) to create an earthy, layered rock album with clear ties to the pop, bluegrass and Americana genres. Lyrically, The Farewell Drifters attempt to express their coming-of-age disappointment and failures throughout the album, without allowing themselves to be paralyzed by it.
Richard Martin 

Quick Links:

More reviews tagged #Rock

  • reviewed 08/2004

    Guy Pearce
    A Slipping Down Life OST

  • reviewed 03/2008

    The Flowbs
    Grazing Like The Elephants

  • reviewed 04/2007

    Rock En Espanol

  • reviewed 06/2007

    Left Side Of The Brain

  • reviewed 06/2017

    Sarah Jane Scouten
    When the Bloom Falls from The Rose

  • reviewed 08/2007

    The Ringing Bell

Compiled by the WYCE Journalism Club

The opinions expressed in these reviews are those of the individual volunteers that submitted the article and do not necessarily reflect the views of WYCE or GRCMC; nor its staff, donors, or affiliates.