Album Reviews

Music You Don't Know You Like Yet




Ben Harpers tenth full studio release reaches from one of the spectrum to the other. This CD begins with the Tom Petty sounding "Don't Give Up On Me Know"; the CD then turns to a psychedelic sounding "I Will Not Be Broken" which ends with some screaming guitar from Mr. Harper. "Rock and Roll is Free" and "Waiting On A Sign" are both catchy rock tracks that are clearly aimed to be singles from this release, the first written while touring with Neil Young and inspired from his "Rocking In The Free World." "Feel Love" and "Pray That Our Love Sees The Dawn" are the most beautiful folk sounding ballads that Ben has written in years and are true standouts on this disc. "Spilling Faith" and "Get There From Here" represent a real jam rock sound as they segway into each other and feature Ringo Star on drums. The CD concludes with "Dirty Little Lover" and "Do It For You, Do It For Us" both tracks that have a Relentless 7 sound and have guitars and vocals that could shred Metallica. This CD has something for everyone and though may not have a true cohesiveness to it, you will find some great tracks no matter which side of Ben Harper you like the best. Reviewed By: Gregg Saur

Quick Links:

More reviews tagged #Rock

  • reviewed 11/2016

    Screaming Females
    Rose Mountain

  • reviewed 04/2006

    Drive-By Truckers
    A Blessing And A Curse

  • reviewed 04/2013


  • reviewed 04/2005

    Jimmy LaFave
    Blue Nightfall

  • reviewed 06/2004

    Glenn Tilbrook
    Transatlantic Ping Pong

  • reviewed 01/2008

    Vampire Weekend

Compiled by the WYCE Journalism Club

The opinions expressed in these reviews are those of the individual volunteers that submitted the article and do not necessarily reflect the views of WYCE or GRCMC; nor its staff, donors, or affiliates.