Album Reviews

Music You Don't Know You Like Yet


Accidental Thief


All Songs FCC Clean

Label: Self-Released
Released: 14 June, 2011

What a joyful record! I mean really, there is no possible way that you will feel upset after listening to this album from Austin based Matt the Electrician. This is his 7th self-released album, a commendable feat for anyone to stay independent this long but this is his first album with co-writers. As part of The House of Songs project between songwriters in Denmark and Austin, TX, Matt flew to Denmark to write songs in a haunted castle in the Danish countryside. When all was said and done, 6 of the 12 songs were co-written but all of them fit naturally together and I would be hard-pressed to be able to pick which was written solo and which was a collaboration.

Mostly siding on the folk side of folk-rock, this banjo playing fool of a man also incorporates horns, glockenspiel and a variety of organs on this record. Though no longer an electrician and now a full time musician and writer, I can certainly say that I am glad he quit his day job.

Recommended tracks: So many good ones but if I had to choose; All I know (1), Accidental Thief (4), Daydreamers (10)

Reviewed by Devon Cunningham

Quick Links:

More reviews tagged #Folk

  • reviewed 07/2007

    The Spiritual Kind

  • reviewed 06/2006

    Begin to Hope

  • reviewed 05/2010

    Delicate Veins

  • reviewed 05/2008

    Phil Barry
    Between The Carolinas

  • reviewed 07/2016

    Lucy Woodward
    Til They Bang On The Door

  • reviewed 12/1969

    Sugar Mountain Live At Canterbury House 1968

Compiled by the WYCE Journalism Club

The opinions expressed in these reviews are those of the individual volunteers that submitted the article and do not necessarily reflect the views of WYCE or GRCMC; nor its staff, donors, or affiliates.