Album Reviews

Music You Don't Know You Like Yet


History From Below


After gigging with San Diego emo band, Noise Ratchet, Jon Jameson (bass) and Brandon Young (drums) had enough and ventured forth on their own. Joined by Matthew Vasquez (vocals), Sean Walker (guitar), and Kelly Winrich (multi-instrumentalist), they formed Delta Spirit and released their debut album, "Ode to Sunshine" in 2007. After three years of touring, they've become more comfortable with one another and it shows on their sophomore release, "History from Below". Featuring drums, guitar, and occasional keys, combined with sometimes gruff vocals (911), and sometimes sweet harmonies (Salt in the Wound, Devil Knows You're Dead), and even a combination of the two (Vivian), this is nicely produced rustic rock. Rebecca Ruth

Quick Links:

More reviews tagged #Rock

  • reviewed 10/2008

    Lynn Thompson Band
    – More Money

  • reviewed 03/2007

    Malea McGuinness
    True Believer

  • reviewed 10/2004

    Chuck Prophet
    Age of Miracles

  • reviewed 06/2008

    We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.

  • reviewed 08/2012

    Grandfather Child

  • reviewed 01/2016

    Kerosene Stars
    Burn The Evidence

Compiled by the WYCE Journalism Club

The opinions expressed in these reviews are those of the individual volunteers that submitted the article and do not necessarily reflect the views of WYCE or GRCMC; nor its staff, donors, or affiliates.