Artist Of The Day: Medicinal Groove

posted by Shane German on 01/29/2020

Traverse City based Medicinal Groove formed in 2011 and released two albums “Minuscule Fuzz,”  in 2011, and “Soul Fishin’,” in 2012 before their keyboardist Jimmy Olson moved to Nashville.

The band then rearranged and expanded, adding various keyboard players, percussionists, background singers and horn players in a revolving line-up.

Medicinal Groove’s third and fourth albums — “Modern Daze,” 2013, and “Live At Studio Anatomy,” 2014 were released but after that, life took the members of Medicinal Groove to different places.

Lead singer Matt McCalpin also ended up in Nashville, Tenn. — but it didn’t break the bonds the four men had formed.

By 2017, the original four members all were back in the Traverse City area and they immediately got the band back together and started writing music.

In 2019 they released the nine-track album, “Fresh Take,” which reflects the band’s musical style of “funk for your health”.

Fresh Take is nominated for Best Pop/Rock Album and Album Of The Year and Medicinal Groove will be performing at the 21st Annual WYCE Jammie Awards on February 14th at The Intersection.


comment & share