Artist of The Day: The National

posted by Matt Jarrells on 09/04/2017

September 4, 2017

Beloved indie rock band The National are set to release their seventh studio album Sleep Well Beast this Friday, September 8th. The band was formed in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1999 by lead singer Matt Berninger and two sets of brothers: Aaron and Bryce Dessner and Scott and Bryan Devendorf. Berninger's brother Tom, though not a member of the band, did direct the critically acclaimed documentary Mistaken for Strangers about the band. The band's first two albums The National and Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers were released through Brassland Records, an independent label founded by the Dessner brothers.

It was with their next two albums, 2005's Alligator and 2008's Boxer, that the band began receiving major critical acclaim and attention. This acclaim turned into commercial success with the release of 2011's High Violet, which placed number three on the sales charts in its first week of release in the US. Their follow-up album Trouble Will Find Me would achieve further success earning the band a Grammy nomination for Best Alternative Album.

Along with their albums the band would also produce a track (Exile Vilify) for the Portal 2 and their cover of "The Rains of Castamere" was featured on Game of Thrones. To promote the latest album, the band released the single "The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness", which hit number one on the Billboard Adult Alternative chart.

Artist's Website


comment & share