GLCL Writers Squared


Koning Micro-cinema

1130 Wealthy St SE Grand Rapids, MI 49506

Starts: 6:30pm
Doors: 6:00PM
Duration: 2 hours

Marc J. Sheehan is the author of Limits to the Salutary Effects of Upper Midwestern Melancholy, winner of the Split Rock Review Chapbook contest, and two full-length poetry collections, Greatest Hits (New Issues Press) and Vengeful Hymns (Ashland Poetry Press). A prose writer and essayist as well as a poet, his fiction has been featured on National Public Radio’s Three-Minute Fiction series as well as on the program Selected Shorts. Formerly the coordinator of writers workshops and readings through the Urban Institute for Contemporary Art in Grand Rapids, he currently resides in Grand Haven.

Elizabeth Kerlikowske is the author of eight books/chapbooks, including Dominant Hand (Mayapple Press), Before the Rain (March Street Press), and the forthcoming Last Hula (Standing Rock). She is the president of Friends of Poetry in Kalamazoo (purveyor of Celery City Publications), and was awarded the Community Medal for the Arts in 2017. Her next book, Art Talks Back, is an ekphrastic project with artist Mary Hatch, due out from Caffeinated Press this fall.

Eric Torgersen is the author of, most recently, In Which We See Our Selves: American Ghazals (Mayapple Press, 2017) and seven other poetry collections, notably Good True Stories (Lynx House) and Heart. Wood. (Word Press), as well as two books of fiction—all from small presses. He has a BA in German Literature from Cornell and an MFA in poetry from Iowa. Professor Emeritus at Central Michigan University, where he taught for 38 years, he continues to serve the literary community of Mt. Pleasant, where he lives with his wife, the quilt artist Ann Kowaleski.

Free and Open to the Public Writers Squared is a reading/discussion series presented by Great Lake Commonwealth of Letters, a literary non-profit in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Writers Squared 2017 is funded in part by the Michigan Humanities Council, an affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities.